top of page

To the Mentor: You're Probably Busy...

“I don't have time for this right now,” was the feeling that arose in my throat, as I opened the email. It was from an emerging leader who had an idea for an article for a popular magazine. His note began with: “You're probably too busy for this, but would you mind…?”

As I looked at the growing number of emails I needed to go through, nearly 300 that day, most were process-oriented requiring me to conduct research before I answered, to complete a task before I responded, or to make an appointment to resolve before I replied… I had no time for this emerging leader’s email.

So, I took pains to acknowledge his effort, but to also make him aware of my predicament. I said something like: “I would be happy to look at this, however, it may take about eight weeks before I can get back to you. I am trying to keep my work well-ordered by priority and by the order of when they arrive as best as I can.”

I was confident that I was not just “blowing him off” and I truly was reporting my limitations on that day. But in the next few days, his email, which I kept open on my desktop, continued to work on me. It was those words “well-ordered by priority” that were having their way with me.

After all, contributing to the development of emerging leaders and executives IS my priority! What do you do when your priorities interrupt your priorities? That's what was working on me. After about four days, I sat with this feeling and reminded myself: the difference between busyness and focus is the preservation of priorities in the midst of competing demands. The act of affirming my values in the midst of a merciless schedule surprised me as having the effect of a miniature retreat in the midst of the furious tyranny that is the modern day executive's schedule. The fact of the matter is this: there's always time to keep your values. And when your values are people, for whom you facilitate tasks, then the entire enterprise rises like all of the boats in the harbor.

After my sobering retreat, I took a new look at the 300 emails awaiting my attention; I let the faces of those who had included me in their work life to emerge freshly. Starting with the person who had requested my personal attention, I went at it anew. In a short amount of time, the 300 emails had reduced to 150. I still have lots of appointments, research, and multiple steps to perform to serve the other 150 emails, but I am renewed in my reason for doing so.

My profession is in the educational and helping arts, it's best that I show up to work ready to help and educate while not forgetting that those who call upon me from time to time are also helping me live a life that matters.

How do you balance the challenge between people work and task work especially when it pertains to realizing your values?

Probably Busy.jpg
Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Mentor's

 

Table

 

bottom of page